Spain boss De la Fuente confirms Euro 2024 squad with three players axed

Pau Cobarci, Marcos Llorente and Alex Garcia They are the three players that Spain coach Luis de la Fuente left out when he confirmed the final 26-man squad that will travel to Germany next week ahead of Euro 2024.

None of the three will travel to Palma (Mallorca) where La Roja will play their last pre-tournament friendly match when they face off. Northern Ireland on Saturday.

Pau Cobarci (Barcelona)

17-year-old Barcelona defender He has already made three international appearances and will no doubt have plenty of future call-ups to Spain after confirming his defensive qualities with FC Barcelona this season. Cobarci will be playing on a major stage this summer and looks set to be selected for Spain's Olympic squad, and Barcelona's request not to play in two major competitions could also have an impact on the decision-making process.

Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

The Atletico winger once again found his place in the Spain squad under Luis Enrique and made his international debut on 11 November 2020 against the Netherlands. His versatility and physicality in midfield played to his advantage, but he was outmatched by fierce competition in the central area. The 29-year-old participated in 19 matches with the Spanish national team.

Alex Garcia (Girona)

One of the distinguished players from Girona's amazing 2023-24 seasonGarcia was the third player in La Liga in terms of distance covered last season, and he is now catching the attention of some of the continent's biggest clubs with three goals and six assists last season. The 26-year-old played a secondary role in the Andorra friendly and always faced stiff competition from Rodri and Zobimendi in the central role.

Zoom in on the screen

Spanish Alex Garcia Fran SantiagoDiarioAS

Spain squad: Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David Raya (Arsenal), Alex Remiro (Real Sociedad).

Defenders: Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Ruben Le Normand (Real Sociedad), Alejandro Grimaldo (Bayer Leverkusen), Dani Carvajal and Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Marc Cucurella (Chelsea), Aymeric Laporte (Al Nasr), and Daniel Vivian (Athletic Bilbao). .

Midfielders: Rodri Hernandez (Manchester City), Martin Szobimendi and Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Fabian Ruiz (Paris Saint-Germain), Alex Baena (Villarreal), Pedri and Fermin Lopez (Barcelona).

Attackers: Lamine Yamal, Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Neco Williams (Atletico Madrid), Joselu (Real Madrid), Dani Olmo (Leipzig), and Ayoze Perez (Betis). .

Spain plays in a complex group that includes defending champions Italy, Croatia and Albania, and begins its journey in Group Two On Saturday, June 15, they will face Luka Modric's Croatia at the Olympic Stadium in Berlin.

De la Fuente's men then face Italy in Gelsenkirchen before rounding off the group with a test against Albania in Düsseldorf.

The top two teams from each group qualify, along with the four best third-placed teams.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *