Which teams have secured a place for the new-look 2024-25 Champions League

Final whistle at Wembley stadium On the night of June 1, the curtain will not only fall on this year's edition of… Champions League But also the current format of the competition that has entertained legions of global fans since its inception in 1992.

Since its establishment in 1955, European Cup As it was known, it was played on a simple premise where all the domestic champions from UEFA member states participated in a knockout tournament away from home, with only 16 teams taking part in the first edition which saw Real Madrid win the final in Paris. .

Demands from Larger teams lead to the introduction of a new format from 1992 A season that saw more teams from national leagues with higher coefficients being allocated places in the group stage and teams from smaller countries having to go through a grueling qualification stage to secure a place in the 32-team group stage. The group stage system was successful resulting in the competition growing worldwide and being considered the premium competition in the domestic game.

Zoom in on the screen

Real Madrid lifted the trophy after the Champions League final between Liverpool and Real Madrid at the Stade de France Rob Newell – Camera SportDiarioAS

Fast forward to 2018 and the pressure from many quarters for more matches, UEFA has confirmed the introduction of a new expanded system that includes 36 teams, which will begin next September.

The new “Swiss model” UCL

The group stage is now a thing of the past with all 36 qualifying teams participating in a single 'league' where each team is scheduled to play four home and away matches against opponents drawn from the seeded pots.

Adidas UCL ball

Zoom in on the screen

Adidas UCL ballAdidas companyAdidas EFE

After the eight matches are over, the top eight teams automatically qualify for the round of 16 With teams finishing 9-24 going into a knockout play-off to join the top eight in the Round of 16 where teams in positions 25-36 were eliminated from all competitions.

The remainder of the competition follows the traditional home knockout format until the final, which will be held in Munich next year.

Who is eligible for the new UCL format?

29 teams secure an automatic place in the new 36-team format With the remaining seven having to go through a series of playoff rounds.

Qualified for the Champions League 24-25

England: Manchester City, Arsenal, Liverpool and Aston Villa

Spain: Real Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Girona, Atletico Madrid

Germany: Bayer Leverkusen, Stuttgart, Bayern Munich, Leipzig, Borussia Dortmund

Italy: Inter, Milan, Bologna, Juventus, Atalanta

France: Paris Saint-Germain, Monaco, Brest

Holland: Eindhoven, Feyenoord

Portugal: Sporting CP

Belgium: the first

Scotland: Celtic

Austria: Sturm Graz

Champions League and Europa League winners


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *