When does each F1 driver’s contract expire?

How long is each current Formula 1 driver's contract and when does it expire?

It's a key detail for any silly season in Formula 1, so here – from our understanding of what can often be a very private process – is the current expiry date for each F1 driver's contract for 2024.

It is important to note that there may be options for other years after the expiration dates shown below.

Red Bull

Max Verstappen – 2028

Sergio Perez – 2026*

In May 2022, Verstappen signed a new contract to stay with Red Bull until 2028.

Since then, he has become a three-time Formula 1 champion and set almost every Formula 1 record, but has repeatedly hinted that he may not continue beyond the end of his current deal.

Red Bull has retained Verstappen's current teammate Sergio Perez, announcing that he had signed a two-year contract extension in early June despite a decline in form in previous races.

But while that suggests he will remain in place for 2026 as well, team principal Christian Horner said in the same announcement that Red Bull is only confirming its line-up for 2025.

So, as well as having some certainty about Verstappen after the end of next season, Perez's contract could also be a one-year plus one-year deal – with the option for that second year by the team.


Lewis Hamilton – 2024*

George Russell – 2025

Lewis Hamilton and George Russell both signed new two-year contracts in 2023 that were intended to keep them at Mercedes until at least the end of 2025.

But Hamilton's deal was not a solid two-year deal, with the second year turning out to be an option on his part. Hamilton eventually triggered his release clause, and will make a notable move to Ferrari in 2025.


Charles Leclerc – “Several More Seasons”

Carlos Sainz – 2024

Ferrari drivers' contracts were due to expire at the end of 2024, but it was announced that Leclerc would extend it for “several more seasons”.

Leclerc has reportedly signed a new five-year contract that will keep him at Ferrari until at least the end of 2029, but the January announcement only specified “several” years.

An extension for Sainz will not follow. With Ferrari under contract with Hamilton for the 2025 season, Sainz admitted that the 2024 season would be his last with the team.

His options currently appear to be between Williams and Sauber, which will become Audi in 2026.


Lando Norris – 2026*

Oscar Piastri – 2026

Like Verstappen, Lando Norris committed long-term in early 2022 in a major deal that will keep him at McLaren until at least the end of 2025.

He held talks with Red Bull before opting to continue with McLaren.

In January 2024, he will recommit to another 'long-term' deal that will almost certainly keep him at McLaren until the end of 2026, the actual expiry could be after that date.

McLaren's original contract for 2023 rising star Oscar Piastri has been upgraded to a four-year deal thanks to his impressive start to life in Formula 1, meaning McLaren will retain Norris Piastri's line-up for at least another three years.

Aston Martin

Fernando Alonso – 2026

Lance Picnic – Rolling

Alonso's surprise move from Alpine to Aston Martin, announced in 2022, includes a contract that will keep him at the team until at least the end of 2024.

He extended this deal to include not just 2025 but 2026, the first year of the upcoming Formula 1 regulations cycle and the first year of the impending engine partnership between Aston Martin and Honda.

We've listed team-mate Lance Stroll as 'traded' as his contract details have not been announced, but so far neither Aston or Stroll have shown any sign of their partnership ending anytime soon.


Esteban Ocon – 2024

Pierre Gasly – 2024

Returning to 2021, Esteban Ocon signed a three-year contract with the Renault works team, giving him a return to Formula 1 after spending 2019 on the sidelines.

But he will part ways with Alpine at the end of the 2024 season – and the announcement comes just over a week after an on-track showdown with teammate and compatriot Pierre Gasly.

Ocon has no alternative plans yet, but he promised in his statement to reveal his plans “very soon.”

Like Ocon, Gasly's contract expires in 2024, although it looks likely that he will remain at Alpine until 2025.


Alex Albon – 2026+

Logan Sargent – 2024

Williams picked up Albon for the 2022 season after he spent the previous year on the sidelines as a reserve for Red Bull, then tied him to a multi-year deal until the end of 2025. It then extended that with a “multi-year” deal that would at least keep him at Williams into the new 2026 era.

Logan Sargeant was given a second year in Formula 1 shortly after the end of his rookie season. His survival beyond 2024 will depend largely on how much he improves.


Daniel Ricciardo – 2024

Yuki Tsunoda – 2024

Red Bull's second Formula 1 team has a new name for the 2024 season but its driver line-up remains unchanged.

Yuki Tsunoda has been retained for a fourth season while Daniel Ricciardo continues his return to Formula 1 with his first full-time season in the Red Bull Junior Team since 2013.


Valtteri Bottas – 2024

Guanyu Zhou – 2024

Valtteri Bottas has landed at the Alfa Romeo-branded Sauber team after losing the Mercedes race to Russell on a multi-year contract that runs at least until the end of 2024.

Zhou Guanyu's original contract expired last year and he has been handed a new one-year deal in 2023 that will extend his stay at the Swiss-based team, which for 2024 and 2025 will be known as the Stake F1 Team.

At least one of them – and possibly both – will not be re-signed for next year, given that Sauber (and future owner Audi) have already committed Nico Hulkenberg to a multi-year deal starting in 2025.


Kevin Magnussen – 2024

Nico Hulkenberg – 2024

Hulkenberg is back in full-time Formula 1 action after three years on the sidelines (through some reserve appearances) under a two-year deal expiring at the end of 2024 – after which he will leave to join Sauber, having been announced as coach. The first driver of the soon-to-be Audi project.

Kevin Magnussen's current contract expires at the same point, with 2024 marking his seventh year with the team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *