Waratahs call upon prop out of Brisbane club rugby amid injury crisis

The NSW Waratahs have been forced to recall former Brumbies and Force player Harry Lloyd out of Brisbane Rugby Club as they continue to battle a horrific run of injuries this season.

Head coach Darren Coleman, who will not remain in charge beyond this Super Rugby Pacific season, has recalled front-rower Mike Scott from Shute Shield duty.

The Waratahs' squad now stands at 18 players injured, with Wallaby Lachlan Swinton among those recently ruled out.

Video separator

Rugby TV Pass

Watch rugby on demand, from exclusive shows and documentaries to extended highlights from RWC 2023. Anywhere. At any time. All for free!

join us

In other changes to the squad, flyhalf Tane Edmed returns to the starting side and Wallaby Izaia Perese replaces Triston Reilly on the wing.

Jack Bowen comes into the reserve team, as does former Fijian Rugby League international Fuati Karawalivu who will provide cover for the outside back.

Looking at the team, Lloyd, who is making his Waratah debut, will compete with Jay Vonokalavi and Brad Amituanai in the front row, with Jed Holloway and Hugh Sinclair completing the fifth row.

Ned Hannigan will join Charlie Gamble and Langie Gleeson in a strong back three to complete the two core forwards.

Captain Jake Gordon will link up the forwards and full-backs once again as a midfielder. The Wallaby join Tane Edmed in the halves, with centers Lalakai Foketi and Joey Walton just outside them.

Dylan Beach will start on the left wing with Isaiah Pires on the right. NRL-bound Mark Nawaqanitawase will line out at fullback against Moana Pasifika.

face to face

Last 2 meetings

Average points scored

The Waratahs will need a win to keep their slim hopes of making the playoffs alive. They can move past Moana Pacifica with a win at Go Media Stadium in Auckland on Saturday afternoon.

Waratah will face Moana Pacifica

  1. Harry Lloyd**
  2. Jay Fonocalavi
  3. Brad Amitwanai
  4. Good Holloway
  5. Hugh Sinclair
  6. Ned Hannigan
  7. Charlie Gamble
  8. Langie Gleason
  9. Jake Gordon (c)
  10. Again Edmead
  11. Dylan Beach
  12. Lalakai Phukiti
  13. Joey Walton
  14. Isaiah Perez
  15. Mark Nukanitawasi


  1. Bin Sukkar
  2. Louis Bonini
  3. Mike Scott*
  4. Miles Amatusero
  5. Fergus Lee Warner
  6. Jake Grant
  7. Jack Bowen
  8. I missed Karawalevo

*Denotes the NSW Waratahs and Super Rugby Pacific debut

**Denotes Super Rugby Pacific debut

Unavailable players: David Borecki, Thomas Lambert, Archer Halls, Misu Konavula, Ned Slack-Smith, Daniel Botha, Mahe Failano, Angus Bell, Theo Fourie, Ned Hannigan, Tom Ross, Julian Heaven, Max Jorgensen, Teddy Wilson, Hayden Thompson. Stringer, Harry Johnson Holmes, Enrique Perito, Lachlan Swinton


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *