Todd defeats Hickman for maiden Isle of Man TT race win

Even the Abu Dhabi Auto Racing League

Milwaukee BMW racer Davey Todd defeated Peter Hickman in one of the most hotly contested races in recent times at the Isle of Man TT, taking his first ever win in the historic event in the postponed and shortened inaugural Superstock TT event.

Todd managed a lap at times well under second on the final lap of three to take the win over Hickman, with Michael Dunlop in third.

Hickman started only his second 1000cc race in the event (after major weather delays pushed back the schedule) as the favorite given his dominance of the class in recent years – and despite Todd taking an early lead, there was no real cause for concern in his race . The FHO BMW team gave Hickman the usual steady starts.

However, despite his best efforts, Hickman, a 15-time TT winner, was unable to close the gap created by Todd early on.

Reducing it to just half a second midway through the final lap, Todd then responded through the mountainous section of the track to extend it to 2.207 seconds at the checkered flag on the Glencrotchery Road, setting an average speed of 135.092mph in the final 37.73-mile lap.

“The feeling is incredible,” he said after the race. I'm really struggling with words right now. It literally feels like a dream.

“I'm really indebted to the Milwaukee BMW guys for putting their trust in me. Getting first place was always special, and to do it this way, fighting with Hickey and Michael, is unbelievable.

“Everyone is so strong now, everyone is so close, and the lap times are crazy. It makes it even more special.”

This week's two-time winner Dunlop, who became the most successful TT rider of all time on Wednesday, came home third, 17 seconds behind Hickman.

The Thursday morning schedule originally saw the Sidecar TT pull away first, before red flags came out for an incident involving TT newcomers and world champions Todd Ellis and Emanuelle Clement at Waterworks.

Both are reported to be OK, and the rescheduled two-lap race will take place at 1400, followed by the second Supersport TT at 1515.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *